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What Is Workers’ Compensation?

Workers' Compensation is a mandatory insurance requirement under Virginia law, which requires
every employer who regularly employs more than two workers, part-time or full-time, to carry workers'
compensation insurance coverage. This coverage may provide benefits to workers who are injured on the
job or develop an occupational disease during their employment. This may include compensation for an
“injury by accident’ or an "occupational disease” under the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act.

An“injury” must: A "disease’ must:
»  Occur at work or during a work-related function * Be caused by work
+  Be caused by a specific work activity + Not be a disease of the back, neck, or spinal column

* Happen at arreasonably definite time

Injuries incurred gradually or from repetitive trauma are not covered, although carpal tunnel syndrome, occupational
hearing loss and other diseases caused by repetitive trauma may be covered.

What Is the Role of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission?

The Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission works as a court system, administering the workers' compensation
laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Commission is not an advocate for injured workers and does not make
payments on claims. The Commission can assist in the following ways:

» Informing the injured worker of their rights and responsibilities under the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act

* Explaining the process for filing a Claim Form

» Informally resolving benefit disputes through Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

* Serving as aresource by educating and providing information about various workers' compensation processes

Injured on the Job. What Are My Rights?

]
Report the injury 1 &

1 Report any work-related injury or occupational disease to the employer as soon as possible, but no later than 30 days from

the date of injury, or 60 days fromwhen a disease is communicated. Failure to report the injury or disease within this timeframe
could result in the claim being denied. Notifying the employer is not the same as filing a claim with the Commission.
The injured worker must file a Claim Form directly with the Commission. Employers are required to file a First Report of Injury
with the Commission within 10 days of having knowledge of any injury or death of an injured worker.

File a claim (é\

Filing a Claim Form is the responsibility of the injured worker, not the employer. The Claim Form is available on the

2 Commission’'s website. Once a claim is filed, an injured worker is also known as a claimant. Generally, the Claim Form must
be submitted to the Commission within two years from the date of injury or communication of an occupational disease.
There are many exceptions to this timeframe. While representation by an attorney is not required, workers' compensation is
a complex area of the law and an injured worker is encouraged to seek legal advice concerning their claim.

Keep up with the claim status %
The Commission’'s online records system, WebFile, is the fastest way a claimant can view the status of their claim and keep
mailing addresses up-to-date to receive important information.
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What Are the Types of Benefits Covered?

Do you require ongoing medical treatment?

Medical Award
Coverage of medical expenses related to the injury or illness may be provided, including medical bills or out of
pocket expenses such as prescription cost and mileage/transportation.

Have you missed more than seven days of work or cannot return to regular work?

@“\/@ Wage Loss Replacement (Temporary Total/Temporary Partial Disability)
Full or partial wage loss replacement for medically authorized disability from work.

Have you suffered permanent loss or loss of use of a body part such as an arm, leg, finger,

toe or eye?

Permanent Partial Disability
? Payment for total or partial loss of use of a body part, total or partial amputation, disfigurement/bodily scarring,

loss of hearing, loss of vision or certain lung diseases.

Did you lose or lose use of both hands, arms, feet, legs, eyes or any two from the same injury?

Permanent Total Disability
Lifetime wage replacement for loss or loss of use of both hands, arms, feet, legs, eyes or any two from the same

injury, or if paralyzed or disabled from a severe brain injury.

What are some other benefits available?

Cost of Living Adjustment

An injured worker or beneficiary who is receiving temporary total, permanent total or death benefits may be entitled to
a Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) if the combination of compensation and Social Security benefits are less than 80%
of pre-injury earnings.

Vocational Rehabilitation
Services available include vocational evaluation, counseling, job coaching, job development, job placement, on-the-job
training, education, retraining, etc.

Death Benefits
In cases where injury or occupational disease results in death, a surviving spouse, children or certain other dependents
may be entitled to wage loss replacement benefits and payment of funeral/transportation expenses.



What Terms Should | Know?
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Injury and Occupational Disease

Aninjury is any accident occurring at the workplace or during a work event which causes harm to the body.
An occupational disease is a condition caused by the work or working conditions.

Notification of Injury

A document sent by the Commission to all parties once an injury is reported to the Commission. This document
informs the parties of their rights and responsibilities.

Claim Form

A Commission form required to be completed by an injured worker to assert their rights or request benefits. If a
claim is denied by the employer or its insurance carrier, the Claim Form serves as a hearing request.

Notification of Rights

Information detailing the injured worker's rights and responsibilities. This notice is sent once the Commission
receives the First Report of Injury from the employer.

Award Order and Award Agreement

An Award is the acceptance or denial of benefits. An Award Agreement is a document sent to the injured
worker if a claim is accepted. Once the Award Agreement is signed and submitted, the Commission enters an
Award Order, which is an official order protecting the injured worker's rights.

Hearing

A legal proceeding where a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner reviews the issues in a case or receives
witness testimony, medical records and other evidence in order to make a formal decision about a dispute or a
proposed settlement,

Step 1- Notice of Hearing Step 2- Hearing Held Step 3- Decision Rendered

Appeal

An application to a higher court requesting a case review. Either party has 30 days to file an appeal from the
date of a Judicial Opinion.

1t Appeal- To appeal the Commission’s first ruling, an appeal may be filed within 30 days of the decision.
2" Appeal- To appeal the Commission's ruling, an appeal may be filed to the Court of Appeals.

3" Appeal- To appeal the Court of Appeal's ruling, an appeal may be filed to the Supreme Court.
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What Services Are Offered at the Commission?

Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
Confidential mediation services offered by the Commission to assist in identifying issues, clarifying
misunderstandings and exploring solutions together. These services are free and are not required.

Clerk's Office
The Clerk's Office is located at the Richmond Headquarters. Available to all parties, the Clerk's Office can
assist with claim related documents, general hearing information, and Commission policies and procedures.

Regional Offices

Any party can visit the Commission's regional offices to file a Claim Form or receive information on various

Commission forms and processes. Regional offices also host hearings and mediations.

Customer Contact Center
The Customer Contact Center is available to assist with general questions. This service is available from 8:30
am. - 445 p.m, Monday - Friday at 877-664-2566 or questions@workcomp.virginia.gov.

Ombudsman Office
Commission employees who provide impartial education for unrepresented parties. This includes guidance on
how to navigate various workers' compensation processes,

Online Resources
Commission Website- Offers various information and resources
* Online Tools / Calculators- Updated annually
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+ Glossary of Terms- A list of commonly used workers' compensation terms
+ VWC YouTube Page- Informational videos and tutorials
*  WebFile- The Commission's online portal to electronic records

Hearings

Alegal proceeding where a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner reviews the issues in a case or receives
witness testimony, medical records and other evidence in order to make a formal decision about a dispute or a
proposed settlement. Video hearings may be available, allowing parties to attend hearings virtually.

What Are Some Helpful Tips?

The Commission does not provide legal advice or legal representation to injured workers. An injured worker seeking
legal representation or advice may contact the Lawyer Referral Service at 800-552-7977.

Any workplace injury or iliness should be reported as soon as possible. The employer should provide the injured
worker with a list of at least three medical providers from which to choose to receive treatment.

If an injury results in medical treatment, it is important to tell the representative at the medical care facility that the
injury occurred during work.

The injured worker may contact the Commission for assistance if the employer or insurance carrier does not respond
to their request for medical treatment.

An injured worker should get copies of the medical records (not bills) related to their work injuries and submit them to
the Commission if their claim is denied by the employer or its insurance carrier.

The Commission does not distribute money to injured workers, This is a function of the employer's insurance carrier.

The Commission does not schedule medical appointments. This is the responsibility of the injured worker.
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How to File a Claim

The Claim Form is available at workcomp.virginia.gov and may be filed in the following ways:

(e

By Mail In-Person
Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission (See Commission Locations)

333 E. Franklin St., Richmond, VA 23219°
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By Fax Online by WebFile
804-823-6957 workcomp.virginia.gov

Commission Locations

Richmond Headquarters }\/3
333 E. Franklin St.
Richmond, VA 23219 ‘Q
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Regional Offices
Bristol Fairfax Harrisonburg
425 State St., Suite 200 Prosperity Plaza 136 W. Elizabeth St. Suite 101,
Bristol, VA 24201 3020 Hamaker Ct., Suite 200 Harrisonburg, VA 22802

Fairfax, VA 22031

Manassas Roanoke Virginia Beach
Sudley Tower 3800 Electric Rd., Suite 200 281 Independence Blvd.
7900 Sudley Rd., Suite 500 Roanoke, VA 24018 Pembroke One, Suite 310

Manassas, VA 20109 Virginia Beach, VA 23462
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How to Contact the Commission

Customer Contact Center
For general questions, please contact the Customer Contact Center toll free at 877-664-2566 from 8:30 am. - 445 p.m,,
Monday - Friday.

Phone: 877-664-2566 Fax: 804-418-4920
Email: questions@workcomp.virginia.gov

For questions regarding a specific claim, contact the Commission by mail or telephone. Please note, the Commission
cannot accept filings via email.

Office Hours: 8:30 am. - 445 p.m., Monday - Friday

Clerk’s Office
The Clerk's Office is available to assist with claim related documents, general hearing information, and Commission
policies and procedures from 8:15 am. - 5:00 p.m.

Phone: 804-205-3569 Fax: 804-823-6957
Office Hours: 815 am. - 500 p.m., Monday - Friday

For more information, visit workcomp.virginia.gov.
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